counter on blogger
Tuesday, October 5, 2010
General Mills Addresses Gluten-Free Inquiry
As you know, General Mills is working very hard to reach out to the gluten-free community. I believe with the launch of many new products and their LiveGlutenFreely.com website, they recognize that the gluten-free community is here to stay. They seem responsive to their customers; A friend recently inquired about the ingredient of Yoplait Yogurt, here was the response she received from General Mills.

Dear Ms. D:

Thank you for contacting us about gluten in Yoplait yogurt.

General Mills offers several products that are labeled gluten-free. Please check the package label for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package. Only products that can be verified to be gluten free will be declared as gluten free on the label. It is important to check the product label each time you purchase a product because it has the most accurate information about the product in the package.

Because we constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated. A current list of products on the market that are gluten free can be found by visiting www.liveglutenfreely.com . It is important to check the package label before purchasing for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package to verify that the package you choose is gluten free.

For products not labeled gluten free, we will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ′Natural Flavors′ or ′Spices′ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed.

If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or:

Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America, Inc.
PO Box 31700
Omaha, NE 68131-0700
402-558-0600
Or toll free: 877-CSA-4-CSA (877-272-4272)
www.csaceliacs.org

or:

Celiac Disease Foundation
13251 Ventura Blvd. #1
Studio City, Ca. 91604
Phone: (818)990-2354
Fax: (818)990-2379
www.celiac.org

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,
Tracy Boyd
Consumer Services

Labels:



1 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

A keen eye is necessary still when using this GM site. Under Gluten Free, GM lists their Trix and Fiber One yogurts. Should they be made with the cereals whose name these yogurts bear, these products would contain gluten.

I contacted GM to inquire whether GM's Trix and Fiber One Yogurt products contain gluten, as these 2 cereals do. http://www.liveglutenfreely.com/products/default.aspx Their generic reply to my specific question about listing these 2 particular products as Gluten Free:
Dear Valued Consumer:

Thank you for contacting Yoplait. Your comments are important to us.

We are committed to making a difference in the lives of our consumers. Feedback such as yours is important to the nature of our business.

We appreciate your loyalty and the time you took to contact us. Please be assured that we will share your thoughts with the appropriate individuals.

Sincerely,

Maria Chase

Consumer Services

>Original Message >Originated by Consumer RE: http://liveglutenfreely.com/products/default.aspx
Perhaps you want to reconsider listing FiberOne and Trix Yogurts as GLUTEN FREE. The ingredients in both cereals are primarily wheat and therefore contain GLUTEN

Post a Comment

<< Home

© 2007, © 2013 Gluten-Free Fun
footer